REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING August 16, 2023

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on August 16, 2023 in the conference room at the high school at 7:00AM. Board members present: Jon Karger, Staci Allmaras (Microsoft Teams), Molly Welch, and Brenda Olson.

Board Members Absent: Anne Peterson and Greg Larson

Student Representatives present: Eduardo Sanchez and Ellie Welch

Student Representatives absent: None

Others Present: Brian Korf, Rudy Martinez, Emily Evenson, Derrick Nelson, Laura Januszewski, Cary Haugrud, Lou Haglund, Miki Fason, and Charla Seter.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00AM and the pledge of allegiance was led by Chair, Jon Karger.

Brenda Olson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Acknowledgements

Summer Rec Staff Summer Academic Program Staff Sylvia Pesch - Student School Board Representative ISD 548 School Board - Thank you for your leadership and support during this past school year.

Administrative reports

- A. Élementary Principal / AD
- B. High School Principal
- C. Student School Board Reps
- D. Finance Director
- E. Superintendent

Brenda Olson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

- A. Approve board minutes July 19, 2023 Regular Meeting
- B. Financial claims July bills
- C. Treasurer's report
- D. Accept Donations

Student Accounts - \$100 - Laura Klimek

Viking Butikk - \$100 - Laura Klimek

PRHS Scholarship Fund in Memory of Jon McGregor - \$20 - Glenn & Colleen Moerke

PRHS Scholarship Fund in Memory of Al Kuvaas - \$20 - Glenn & Colleen Moerke

PRHS Scholarship Fund in Memory of Jack Couture

- \$50 Steven Andrews
- \$25 Anonymous
- \$20 Bonnie McGregor
- \$20 Glenn & Colleen Moerke

PRHS Music Scholarship in Memory of Jack Couture

- \$50 Van & Ruth Holmgren
- \$30 Dennis & Lisa Ouren
- E. Personnel

Approve the resignation of Pamela Bruhn as Part-time ADSIS Instructor Approve the hire of Sharalyn Snavely as Part-time Early Childhood Education Teacher Approve the hire of Richard Courtright as Long-term Substitute Teacher Approve the hires of Special Education Paraprofessionals:

Torri Beiningen - VES Tianna Benson - PRHS Rebecca Castillo - VES

- Adriana Jenkins VES
- Cameron MacFarlane VES

Approve the hire of Dylan Evenson & Aaron Kapenga as Co-Head Wrestling Coaches Approve the hire of Carlos Gutierrez as Assistant Wrestling Coach Approve the hire of Rick Courtright as Junior High Football Coach

Mr. Derrick Nelson Mrs. Laura Janu Ms. Ellie Welch & Mr. Eduardo Sanchez Mr. Rudy Martinez Mr. Brian Korf Approve the hire of Cary Haugrud as Junior High Football Coach Approve the hire of Mitch VerDorn as Junior Varsity Football Coach Approve the hire of Kathryn Anderson-Albright as One Act Play Advisor

Approve the Support Staff (9m, 10m, 12m) Salary Schedule and Benefits for 2023-2025

G. Approve the Principals' Agreement for July 1, 2023 - June 30, 2025

The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and the motion was carried with all present members voting in favor.

Jon Karger made a motion to approve the 2023-24 VES Student Handbook. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the 2023-24 PRHS Student Handbook. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Jon Karger made a motion to approve the 2023-24 Employee Handbook. The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the Truth in Taxation public meeting date - December 13, 2023 at 6:00pm. The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Jon Karger made a motion to approve the membership renewal with the Minnesota Rural Education Association (MREA) 2023-24. The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Staci Allmaras made a motion to approve the Teacher's Master Agreement 2023-25. The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Board Chair

F.

Board Clerk